Coding (C++,C, etc..) and the Various Ways it Can Be Done

Discussion in 'Science, Technology, and Green Energy' started by LA, Jul 6, 2015.

1. LA

LA Well-Known Member

Anyone here with a lot of experience in 'C' (C++ is too advanced for me right now. I only need C) coding? If so, are you able to write C code right now and how well can you do it?

I'm currently studying a class which involves such information.

At home I use an Apple iMac (2013 model) and Xcode is what's needed but in class we use Windows so Code::Blocks is what we use.

2. archangel

archangel Well-Known Member

I'm interested to see who says yes. I mainly understand C++ and C isn't that far away since C just doesn't have strings and classes.
    I can help out if no one says yes. I uses eclipse. Just want to point out that you may be using different compilers or versions. I've seen this cause issues at my job. I'd probably stick to code::blocks so that everything runs smoothly. You can use winebottler to run code blocks if there is no mac version. probably not since Xcode is there.

3. jaisee

jaisee Well-Known Member

I have experience in C.

If you're taking a class, I'd highly recommend looking up CS50 for free online. It's Harvards Introduction to Computers course, where the first 7 or so weeks are just C programming.

Go to edx.org and search for CS50.

The most difficulty that most people find with C is the memory management that is not required by most other programming languages. Understanding how to reference and dereference pointers and the such.

I do not profess to be an expert by any stretch, but I may be able to lend some assistance when needed. What types of code are you being asked to write at this point?

Edit: I usually use VI for more basic stuff, but eclipse for larger projects.

Last edited: Jul 6, 2015
  4. LA

LA Well-Known Member

Right now we've done things such as this:

1.) Write a program that calculates the value of e, for values of 3,5,7, and 10.